top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureManta News

Wondering What Your Schedule Should Be? Senior Year Edition

Written by Michelle Martinez-Bonil


Senior year is the year right after the most grueling and stressful year, junior year. So, it’s understandable that you’d want to take a break and only take honor courses. But, colleges don’t want you to “chill” and it looks good if you’re still pushing yourself. What should you do? You can take full time- DE (only FIU courses), part-time DE (a mix of FIU courses and MAST@FIU courses) or take AP courses.

Full-Time DE Student


Why did you choose to be a full-time DE student?

To be frank, I couldn’t put myself through another year of all AP classes. I knew that I wouldn’t be motivated enough to handle them during my senior year and I also wanted to free up time during the first half of the year to focus on my college applications. Ultimately, I feel like I made the correct decision.”

What do you like the most about being a full-time DE student?

The most enjoyable thing about being full-time DE has to be the flexibility of your schedule. I have enough time to work 2 jobs and take my sister to all her extracurriculars, which is invaluable since my father now works outside the country. I have the ability to take whatever classes I find interesting and have a sneak preview of what college life will be like.”

What do you dislike the most about being a full-time DE student?

No regrets whatsoever. If I had a choice to change I don't think I ever would.”

What’s your schedule like compared to MAST’s 7:20 - 2:20?

Sam has no class on Monday. On Tuesday, his classes start at 9:45 am and end at 1:45 pm. On Wednesday, he has one class from 9 am to 10:15 am. On Thursday, he has a class from 9:30 am to 12:15 pm. Lastly, on Friday, he has the same schedule he had on Wednesday.

That was Samuel Makarov’s experience as a full-time DE student.

MAST @ FIU AP Student


Why didn’t you decide to be a full-time DE student even though you met all the requirements?

I wanted to challenge myself for senior year as I do every year and decided to take AP classes as a result. I also wanted to go to an out of state college, and AP credit can be used for those schools compared to dual enrollment credit.”

What do you like the most about taking AP classes?

I would like to use the credit for college, and it shows how one can master challenging courses that help shape our career”

That was Angel Aguilar’s take on AP classes.



Part-Time DE Student


Why didn’t you decide to be a full-time DE student even though you met all the requirements?

I don’t really know, I was kind of scared taking DE at all and I wanted to take it slow. Looking at the full-time kids now, I regret it but, it’s way too late to worry about it now.”


What do you like the most about being a Part-Time DE student?

What I like the most is that every Tuesday and Thursday, I have almost a whole two-hour break between classes. During this time I can eat or watch TV or finish some work for the upcoming class if I hadn’t already. Also, the classes aren’t that difficult and I’d say even easier than the AP courses I took last year.”

What do you dislike the most about being a Part-Time DE student?

What I dislike the most would have to be going to MAST [@ FIU] classes. For my DE days, I get in at 8 so I can wake up a bit later. Plus, my last class this semester ends at 1:45. Plus my two-hour break? Amazing.”

That was Michelle Martinez- Bonilla’s thoughts on taking part-time DE.


So, depending on your goals and what you want, either or could be better for you. Please talk to Ms. Acevedo about the requirements for each path and how and why the one you like is best for you.

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page