top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureManta News

Where do MAST@FIU Students Want to Go to College?

Written by Michael Lovaglio


Around four years ago, MAST@FIU Seniors stepped foot on the most unique high school campuses in Florida, beginning their treacherous journey through a rigorous set of courses, and making nostalgic memories that’ll follow them throughout their lives. Some students seek to pursue formal education after high school and aspire to get admitted into America’s top colleges. Ranging from Cornell, Northwestern, Princeton, and Columbia, many seniors this year achieved the honor of being invited to attend undergraduate programs at some of the best Ivy League and Top schools. This leaves the rest of the student body inspired; upcoming Seniors will very soon be applying to possibly the same colleges, and upcoming Juniors are beginning to bunker down on plans to score highly on the SATs. Have you ever wondered where your colleagues want to attend college? Nicholas Rodriguez, Elijah Lieberman, and Warrick Brugal are upcoming juniors interviewed and shared their insight into what colleges they would like to attend and their plans to get there.


Nicholas Rodriguez

“My dream colleges are Nova University or the University of Florida. I heard Nova has an excellent medical program, and since that’s something I’m interested in, I’d like to attend college there. I’m interested in going to Medical School and becoming a cardiologist. If not, I’m very interested in politics, so I’ll explore that field. I plan to get admitted by maintaining good grades and pursuing extra-curricular activities like shadowing a doctor or seeking a medical internship.”



Elijah Lieberman

“Right now, my ideal college is Carnegie Mellon. They have this unique location called the “entertainment technology center.” I’d love to write storylines for video games, and I know somebody in the field who went to this school and is in this position. When it comes to undergrad, I’d most likely major in Creative Writing and minor in Game Design. Hopefully, I can master entertainment technology. Of course, I will have to take the SAT next year, so I’ll be practicing for that a bunch in the summer and early school year. I’m also starting a Dungeon and Dragons club to express my creativity. It’s very possible that based on Carnegie Mellon's policy for transfer credits, they’d welcome students with outside college credits.”


Warrick Brugal

“I’m not very sure about my dream college of choice, but two colleges I am considering are UF or FIU, but I’m always discovering new options. FIU is a local school; it’s close to home and keeps me in the same place. However, I heard UF is a really good school, and applying there may help me see the school’s true nature. If I do apply to these schools, I’d like to pursue a major in Computer Science. I guess I’m going to have to work hard in high school, and I’m hoping that I’ll be able to prove myself to these colleges in these coming years.”


Despite any student’s future career choices, one thing’s for certain: MAST@FIU is full of admittedly talented, intelligent students who will all one day change the world for the better. Whether it begins at an Ivy League or in their bedroom, we are all destined for something great.

195 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page