top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureManta News

Meet MAST@FIU's Newest Teacher: Ms. Blanc!

Written by Claudia Roizner


As the new and very different school year of 2020-2021 began, it was clear that students would face new challenges. The most apparent one was the new hybrid format, which would take all students and move them into homeschooling to avoid close contact with others. Although all of these complications made the school year difficult, we are glad to introduce a new staff member and a highlight to the new year: Ms. Blanc.


Having been a substitute teacher in previous years, Ms. Blanc returned this school year as a full-time teacher for FLVS classes. In order to get to know her better and introduce her to the student body, I conducted an interview.


1. Why did you decide to become a teacher at MAST@FIU?


“I decided to become a teacher because I wanted to make a positive impact in my community. Being a teacher is extremely rewarding and by no means easy. I was lucky enough to have some amazing high school teachers, then later exceptional college professors. These individuals instilled in me life lessons that go beyond a classroom or lecture; they certainly have played a role in my decision to become a teacher.”


2. What is something, perhaps a fun fact, that you would like the student body to know about you?


“Fun fact- I was a cheerleader in high school! I had a lot of school spirit!!! My cheerleading days are long gone, but the memories with my Cheer team will last forever. I think all students should get involved in their school somehow.”


3. Where did you study before choosing your profession?


“I got my Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Florida International University.”


4. What reasons made you want to stay at MAST@FIU as a teacher?


“There are many reasons, but I will start with the fact that I felt an instant connection with the core values of the school. Also, FIU is my Alma Mater; it is an honor to work for a Dade County school that has an ongoing collaboration with FIU.”


5. Any words for the student body? Maybe something you would like to say to them to motivate them for the year?


“Try to make the most out of this unique school year. With the right mindset, effort, and attitude anything is possible!”


On behalf of the student body of MAST@FIU, we would like to give an extremely warm welcome to Ms. Blanc! Remember to stay safe, practice social distancing, and wear a mask.


105 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page