top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureManta News

Campus update: Chick-fil-a and More!

Written by Roy Blank


The Chick-fil-a in Roary’s Bay Café is entirely constructed! A quick Google search will reveal that the new location has been added to the list of Chick-fil-a chains in South Florida. Students anticipate that it will open shortly.

David Caeymov, a senior attending MAST@FIU physically, had this to say when asked about his thoughts on the new Chick-fil-a location: “I’m excited about the opportunity to eat Chick-fil-a on campus. I’ve always been disappointed by the school lunches provided, so getting this long-awaited opportunity is refreshing. We’ve been told that the Chick-fil-a would open for the past two years, so finally seeing the development of the Chick-fil-a come to an end is amazing”. He’s stated that his first order at the location would be the “four-piece chicken tenders with a fruit cup. It’s always a great on-the-go meal”.


Jonathan Marcovich, another fellow senior who studies on campus, stated that he’s “super hyped for this new development on campus. Ever since the old food court was remodeled into Roary’s Bay Café, I have been yearning for some outside influence in the FIU BBC food court. I think a Chick-fil-a does just that and will be a very successful investment on their part”. Here was his recommendation for those who may not have not previously seen Chick-fil-a’s menu. “I usually get the spicy chicken sandwich, topped with pickles and ranch. As a side, I order the medium fries, with zesty buffalo sauce. My go-to beverage is either lemonade or an Arnold Palmer if I feel like treating myself”, he stated.


Mr. Larios, Marine Science teacher at MAST@FIU and self-proclaimed professor in Chick-fil-a sauce food science, had this to say: “I’m very excited about the Chick-fil-a opening soon, as I’ve been anticipating it for a very long time. I plan to implement Chick-fil-a food into my diet biweekly. I think the restaurant is a great addition to our campus, allowing students to enjoy one of my personal favorite fast-food chains at the comfort of their own school”. His go-to order at any Chick-fil-a he visits is the following: “For the entrée, it’s a tie between the 12-piece chicken nuggets, not eight, twelve, and the classic plain chicken sandwich. This must be included with the Chick-fil-a sauce. If there’s no sauce, it’s not a real Chick-fil-a order. No matter what, I order the fries as a side, dipped in delicious, Chick-fil-a sauce. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, no Chick-fil-a experience is truly fulfilled without the Chick-fil-a original sauce. Then for a beverage, I typically order an original Arnold Palmer, which in my opinion, is the most underrated green tea mixed with lemonade”.


A new fast-food chain opening up near us is not all in the works that MAST and FIU have in store for us; our new building is also coming along. Here’s what Jonathan Marcovich had to say about the new building: “Yeah, the new building is already looking amazing. I get to see it every day when I walk from the parking lot to school. It looks interesting, and in a good way. The design seems unique, with nice blue paint on the exterior walls of it”.


The new MAST@FIU building in all its glory.

1,707 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page