top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureManta News

A Challenger Approaches: Seniors’ Thoughts on AP Season

Written by Joanna Mijares


As most MAST@FIU students are acutely aware of, AP season is swiftly approaching. Since exams started on Monday, many AP students are currently scrambling to study the content they’ve been learning all year. AP exams are not only a culmination of an entire year’s worth of education, but they may also give students college credits, and the classes look good on applications. This is why so many students strive for a passing score, especially 4’s and 5’s.


This year, students had the option to choose between 3 test administrations. Administration 1 will take place from May 3rd- May 17th, and it will consist of in-person, paper-based exams. Administration 2 takes place from May 18th- May 28th, and students will either take paper-based exams at school or a select few exams online. The third and final administration, Administration 3, will take place from June 1st- June 11th. These exams will be entirely digital and at home, much like last year’s exams.

The three AP administrations.

For the seniors of MAST@FIU, these are the last AP exams, and College Board exams in general, that we will ever take. I interviewed several diligent students for their opinions on AP exams this year, considering most of the year was spent online by many students and how they’ll be studying for their exams.


First, I had a conversation with senior Laura Sandoval, who will be taking exams in administrations 1 and 2. “Because I’ll only be taking two AP exams this year and I prefer a paper-based exam. Although I do not like the lack of consideration coming from the College Board this year when it comes to students’ well-being—that being physically and mentally— I’d much rather take an exam physically than have to deal with any possible consequences from technological issues if the exam was virtual,” explained Sandoval. It seems as though this year, many students, including Laura, had to strategize which administrations to take for the best possible outcome.


Senior Sascha Agenor discussed her feelings about online learning and the AP exam in general. “I’m honestly really nervous; I chose Admin 1. I think learning at home this whole year has been more difficult to navigate than I anticipated because it’s easy to get distracted. I think I’m just gonna have to grind this one out,” said Agenor. Nervousness is a common theme among many students, especially for those who spent an entire year at home.



The third and final senior I interviewed, Ari Barbella, explained his study plan for his Administration 1 exams. “I’ve been trying to review a little bit from each class every day whenever I can. Suddenly being in person after studying in my house for so long is going to feel really weird, but I think I can do it,” said Barbella. It’s true that the sudden change in scenery that many online students will have to go through for Administration 1 testing will be quite jarring for many students. Being thrust out of their comfort zone will be something that students have to deal with during AP season.


This AP season will be many seniors’ last hurrah for standardized testing, but that doesn’t change the fact that there are many anxieties regarding AP examinations. Remember to study hard to get those college credits, but don’t forget to take breaks if you’re feeling overwhelmed! In the words of Sascha Agenor, we’re all going to have to “grind this one out.”

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page